

Heathy Woodland in Grampians (Gariwerd) National Park after fire.



# **Annual General Meeting**

As a Member of the Victorian National Parks Association, you are warmly invited to attend our 69th AGM, with guest speaker Dr Philip Zylstra, followed by an update and Q&A session with Executive Director Matt Ruchel and the team.

WHEN: Tuesday, 12 October 2021

TIME: 6.30 - 8.00pm

WHERE: Online via Zoom

RSVP: Essential. Please look out for your email invitation

to register for the AGM or visit www.vnpa.org.au/agm

GUEST Dr Philip Zylstra

SPEAKER: Adjunct Associate Professor at Curtin University,

Western Australia



## PRESENTATION: Fire: working with nature, not against it

Dr Philip Zylstra came to bushfire research after a career in fire management and specialist remote area firefighting. During this period, he helped pioneer the modern role of Fire Behaviour Analyst, developing the first software used to guide efforts to contain large fires. From his work in fuel management, fire prediction and frontline fire-fighting, he observed poor decision-making when managing fires. As a result, his research has focused on efforts to build a basis for fire management that has sound scientific foundations and applications.

To achieve this, Dr Zylstra has developed the first peer-reviewed bushfire behaviour model for forests in eastern Australia. He has further developed this model into FRaME (Fire Research and Modelling Environment), which is the only existing tool to model fire threats to both flora and fauna. His current focus is to use modelling and analyses of climate-vegetation-fire feedbacks to provide guidance in the new climatic reality.

### PRESENTATION: Protecting nature and national parks together

- Matt Ruchel, Executive Director will update us on the progress made over the past year – including the win for Westernport Bay, and the commitment to create new national parks in central west Victoria.
- Elizabeth Morison, Nature Conservation Officer will tell us about the Australia Institute's Anne Kantor Fellowship for Young Women Environmentalists and provide an update on the projects she is involved in.
- Sera Blair, Acting Manager Community
  Learning and Engagement will share how
  our VNPA community has been getting to
  know nature, both in the field and online –
  including citizen science activities and learning
  resources for families.
- Q&A Session: Members are invited to ask questions to be answered by VNPA staff.

Continued over page



Tawny Frogmouths. Photo: It's a Wildlife.

#### 69th VNPA AGM AGENDA

6.30pm Meeting opens

Meeting held via Zoom online platform. Please RSVP at www.vnpa.org.au/agm to receive your link to the meeting.

6.35pm Welcome and Acknowledgement of Country by Dr Bruce McGregor, VNPA President

6.40pm Guest speaker: Dr Philip Zylstra

• Fire: working with nature, not against it

· Question & answer session

7:10pm Presentation: Protecting nature and national parks together

· Matt Ruchel, Executive Director

• Elizabeth Morison, Nature Conservation Officer

· Sera Blair, Acting Manager Community Learning and Engagement

· Question & answer session with VNPA staff

7.30pm Bushwalking and Activities Group Report

• Report on Activities for the year 2020-21

• Call for Committee Members

7.35pm VNPA AGM

1. President's welcome and introduction

2. Confirmation of the minutes of the 68th AGM

3. Adoption of the 2020-21 Annual Report\*

4. Adoption of the audited 2020-21 Annual Financial Statements\*

5. Appointment of the Auditor

6. Election of Council (see Agenda item 6, detail below)

7. Awarding of Honorary Life Membership

8. Other business

8.00pm Meeting close

\*The 2020-21 Annual Report will be sent by email and full audited financial statements will be available online at www.vnpa.org.au/agm

#### Agenda Item 6 - Election of Council

Following the calling for nominations for Council, the following nominations were received:

- President One nomination received: Bruce McGregor
- Vice President One nomination received: David Nugent
- Treasurer One nomination received: Marilyne Crestias
- Secretary One nomination received: Jan Hendrik Brueggemeier
- Councillors (up to 8 positions) Lara Bickford, Ann Birrell, Michael Feller, Dianne Marshall, Gerard McPhee, Rosemary Race, Doug Robinson and Paul Strickland

Note: Clause 9 (1) of the constitution states: At the Annual General Meeting there shall be elected a President, a Vice President, a Secretary, a Treasurer (the "officers"), and up to eight (8) others (the "members") who shall form the Council of the Association for the ensuing year.

